My Twitter Experience

twitter-logo1At first, like many others, my first impression of Twitter was that it was just another social networking site that didn’t live up to it’s competing sites like Facebook and Myspace. However, after giving it a chance and playing around with the site for a few days, I started realizing the many ways in which Twitter can be a useful resource, not just with social networking, but career networking and development. After seeing how many companies and executives not only have Twitter accounts, but use the site frequently as well. This is a very beneficial tool to help our careers in whatever fields we choose to go into.

It is great to have these connections, even if the only way you have communicated with them is over Twitter. As stated before, my initial reaction to Twitter was that it was just a site that lists status updates, just one of the many functions provided by Facebook. However, I was wrong. Before long I found out that Twitter’s main function wasn’t to let your friends and collegues know what your having for dinner or that you just bought a new blue sweater. The most beneficial function of Twitter is the ability to respond back to other users posts. This is a function that Facebook has implemented as of late, most likely an idea they stole from Twitter, but I feel that Twitter intends for this function to be utilized a different way than it’s social networking counterpart. I think that the main function, or at least the most useful function of Twitter is to send advice or answer questions that other users (your friends) may pose.

For example, most of the status update responses you see on the mini feed of your Facebook homepage are just simple comments and meaningless responses to things the updates of your friends. For example, someone might put an update that states that they are angry and then one of their friends will respond “why.” I think that what sets Twitter apart is that, from my brief experience using Twitter, is that most of the users post questions or concerns and then everyone that is following that person has a chance to answer them. While other social networking sites focus on an endless amount of functions, Twitter focuses on just one and I feel that that utilizes that function much better than the others.

After giving Twitter a chance, I discovered how useful it actually can be and how it can be used both on a personal and professional level. I am glad I had this assignment because otherwise I might not have ever gave this site a chance. Now, there is a good chance that I will continue to use Twitter long after my time in PRCA 2300 is over.

2 Comments

Filed under Assignments

2 responses to “My Twitter Experience

  1. Fantastic review of your week with Twitter. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I know that you “get” Twitter.

  2. Alisa Agozzino

    Great post Matt. Glad to hear that Twitter is exceeding your expectations. Wishing you continued success!

Leave a Reply

